The Five Love Languages Explained

What is your love language? You may have been asked this question before. But what does it actually mean?

The original concept of love languages was developed by Gary Chapman, Ph.D., in his 1992 book The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate, which described different styles of communicating and receiving love. According to Chapman, every person typically calls into one of five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Act of Service, Receiving Gifts, and Physical Touch. This guide will help you determine which language is yours and understand a little more about the others.

Words of Affirmation

This love language is all about verbal acknowledgments of affection. When this is your love language, compliments, words of appreciation, encouragement, and even frequent communication (including texts and social media affirmations) are of high importance.

Quality Time

This love language is all about spending time together. Individuals that subscribe to this love language gain their understanding and appreciation through spending quality time with their loved ones. If this is the love language of your significant other, it’s important to make time for them so they feel your love the way they need it.

Acts of Service

If acts of service is your love language, you believe actions speak louder than words. You prefer acts of affirmation, including small acts of kindness such as doing chores around the house or even picking up your favorite dessert. In other words, this love language focuses on the actions that a partner makes to show they care about and understand their significant other.

Receiving Gifts

This love language means that the individual feels loved when it is symbolically gifted to them. In other words, giving and receiving gifts have the most meaning. This doesn’t mean these individuals place a dollar amount of love. It simply means that the act of giving a gift shows that you were thinking about the individual.

Physical Touch

Lastly, this love language is expressed by physical affection. These individuals feel the most loved with physical gestures, from something as innocent as hand-holding to physical intimacy or sex. Physical touch is the love language that you should be most mindful of if you and your partner differ in your preferences. Some individuals are uncomfortable with public displays of affection, so communication is important.

Want to find out what your love language is? Take this quiz!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Your locale for the best advice on
fashion, health, and beauty


Subscribe to our newsletter to get exclusive information on today's trends in fashion, beauty, and more!

By clicking submit, I authorize Think Glamor and its affiliated companies to: (1) use, sell, and share my information for marketing purposes, including cross-context behavioral advertising, as described in our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, (2) supplement the information that I provide with additional information lawfully obtained from other sources, like demographic data from public sources, interests inferred from web page views, or other data relevant to what might interest me, like past purchase or location data, (3) contact me or enable others to contact me by email with offers for goods and services from any category at the email address provided, and (4) retain my information while I am engaging with marketing messages that I receive and for a reasonable amount of time thereafter. I understand I can opt out at any time through an email that I receive, or by clicking here.

Skip to content